top of page
Search
Writer's pictureNathan Bagley

4 Reasons to Learn a Foreign Language


“If you talk to a man in a language he understands, that goes to his head. If you talk to him in his language, that goes to his heart.” - Nelson Mandela


Most Americans believe that they don’t need to learn a foreign language because English is a global language. While it is true that English has become the most spoken language in the world, that does not mean that learning another language is purposeless.


Since 2018, I have taught myself to speak Spanish, German, and I am currently learning French. Learning new languages is an exciting and rewarding challenge that has greatly enriched my life. Through this hobby, I have formed friendships across the world, learned about other cultures, and discovered a new side of my personality. I’d like to share four benefits of learning a language and I hope that you will learn one too!


Enrich your travel experience


One reason that people around the world learn English is to make commerce and tourism easier. The fact that people learn my language to accommodate me, yet I haven’t tried to learn their language makes me feel self-centered. I feel that only speaking English while traveling abroad reduces personal interactions to business transactions. Without a personal connection, travel feels empty. I don’t travel because I want to absorb the culture; I travel because I want the culture to absorb me.

Culture is the culmination of beliefs surrounding morals, religion, politics, economics, art, food, and history. The only way to express and share these ideas is through language. Language is the medium of thought, and our thoughts are the foundation of our most important beliefs and values. Speaking to people in their native tongue helps you gain first-hand insight into the communal beliefs. People are very proud of their culture. As such, they view it as the ultimate sign of respect when a tourist communicates with them in their mother tongue.


Create a global network of friends


Being friends with people from other countries has three distinct benefits. The first is that you meet people with a completely different cultural perspective. Meeting people from around the world helps me realize that the way I see the world is just one perspective rather than the objective truth. The second benefit is that you learn about your own country's culture by hearing the perspective of others. Learning about other cultures helps me understand both the advantages and disadvantages of living in the United States. I also learn how my behavior is perceived from the perspective of other cultures. Lastly, I believe that making friends through learning languages forms a strong bond that crosses time zones and borders. While our cultural perspectives and languages are different, we are still human beings who want friendship and to be understood.


Economic incentive


With the increase of globalization, there are more opportunities to live and work abroad. Being able to speak another language creates opportunities to work in other countries. Even if you work for an American Corporation where business is conducted in English, it would still improve your chances of getting a job if you wanted to work in France and spoke French.


Increase your dating options


The men and women of other countries would find it extremely attractive if you taught yourself their language. You would be kicking yourself if the only thing that prevented you from finding your spouse was a language barrier. Additionally, if your spouse is from a country that you have a fond affection for, you will be able to speak the language for the rest of your life!


These are just four of the many reasons to learn another language. In the coming posts, I will share resources so that you can start your language learning journey!




72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


NATE'S WAY FORWARD

bottom of page