top of page
Search
Writer's pictureNathan Bagley

Unchanged Through Changing Years

The park bench a front our home found us

Sitting nightly through the passing years.

Deep wrinkles slowly formed as your hand

In mine, intertwined, while eyes watched fiery

skies descend.


It felt our love transform from flaming passion

to a loyal partnership; two people willing

to endure the rusty iron nails of life's

suffering with no want of compensation.


It saw my head feebly crash into your

Shoulder as you comforted me through

The loss of my sweet mother.

You held me so tight I knew not how I

Would subsist once freed from your grasp.


It heard us talk passionately of dreams

Frightfully forgotten or earnestly expected.

Sometimes it heard silent stillness as

Our gazes fixed upon sinking skies.


But the park bench could never know

That while hair grayed, skin folded and

Waves of perspective calmly stilled,

My love for you only grew stronger.



16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


NATE'S WAY FORWARD

bottom of page